California requires all drivers to show proof of insurance when operating a vehicle on the highway or in the city. Is your coverage enough to meet the state’s liability requirements? The agents at Murvay Insurance can help you find the right auto insurance plan that covers you financially while also keeping you in compliance with state law.
What is the state minimum for car insurance?
The state of California requires all drivers to show proof of liability coverage that includes at least $15,000 per person, or $30,000 per incident, for bodily injury. Drivers must also have property damage coverage that equates to at least $5,000 in coverage. California is unique in its auto insurance requirements by mandating drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage that is no less than $15,000 per person, or $30,000 per incident, per accident.
The minimum policy limits as required by the state will keep you in compliance with the law. Such stipulations do not prevent a lawsuit in the instance that you cause damage in an accident that exceeds your policy’s limits. Such is the reason why you may want to purchase more insurance in Newport Beach, CA.
How much car insurance do you need?
Your policy limits should depend on a number of factors. First, you want car insurance that pays to have your vehicle replaced in the instance that it is destroyed in an accident. An indemnity plan that is not enough for you to recover is probably not enough for the next person to get back on his or her feet if you cause an accident that leads to significant losses.
You also want to consider an insurance policy that offers legal representation in the instance that your case goes to court. The best insurance plans in Newport Beach, CA provide drivers with a strong legal team that works to ensure equality in lawsuits.
The agents at Murvay Insurance are in the business of finding the best auto insurance plans for California residents. Call today to get started with a quote for coverage!